PROFESSIONALS

IN RESIDENCE

Professionals in residence within Cilex work closely with entrepreneurs in order to equip and advise them to make informed strategic decisions.

BDC_Logo_Horiz_RGB.png
Martin Paquette, CPA, CA

Business Development Bank of Canada

Martin Paquette is a graduate of HEC Montréal in accounting sciences and has held the CPA, CA designation since 2009. He has several years of experience as a chartered professional accountant (CPA) and nearly nine years at BDC, including several years as an associate director in the Growth & Transition Capital team, Technology Sector. He possesses strong financial analysis and credit risk management skills.

 

​You can contact Martin Paquette directly through email at martin.paquette@bdc.ca.

Sophie-Anne Décarie, LL.B.

Décarie Avocats Lawyers

A graduate from Université Laval in law and Université de Sherbrooke in pleading, civil and commercial mediation, following studies in political science at the University of Ottawa, Sophie-Anne Décarie has been a member of the Barreau du Québec since 1999. Lawyer and accredited civil and commercial mediator, she has extensive knowledge in civil and commercial litigation in various fields such as construction law, real estate law, commercial law, civil liability, franchise law and insurance law.

The expertise of Décarie Avocat Lawyers includes, among others, incorporation, shareholder agreements, annual reports, service agreements, and the drafting, revision and negotiation of contracts.

Marc Langlois

Accompagnement financier Marc Langlois

Marc Langlois has a bachelor’s degree in economics from the Université de Montréal and an MBA in accounting from McGill University. He has held several management positions at the Royal Bank of Canada, and eventually became senior regional director for Investissement Québec, where he stayed for nearly 15 years. 

Marc Langlois has been guiding small and big businesses for more than 35 years as a professional finance consultant, coaching them through various stages of their development. His expertise in financial markets and commercial financing allows him to help entrepreneurs make their projects a reality, notably by obtaining funding and access to government assistance programs.

André Merizzi, M.Sc. (Physics)

Merizzi, Ramsbottom & Forster

Active in the field of intellectual property for more than 12 years, André Merizzi has been specializing himself in the development of patent portfolios related to high technology innovations, such as computer technologies, optics and telecommunication systems, but also patent portfolios pertaining to construction products and industrial processes.

As a Physicist, André always aims to understand the fundamental principles underlying the inventions he aims to protect, in order to fully understand the various technical and technological features leading to the unique commercial advantages offered by these inventions. Through strategic international claims and repositories, André first seeks to optimize the legal positioning of his clients so as to maximize the added value of their patent portfolio, by bearing in mind the budget available for the development of their portfolio.

Jasmin Morin

Graphic Designer

Jasmin Morin combines over 12 years of experience in various fields of visual communications, including design and user interface experience, branding and advertising design. Passionate about problem solving, he approaches design and visual communications as a space of innovation to create strategic and unique solutions for each project.

In 2015, after working as a Designer within the technology start-up Punchtime, he decided to use his experience to help and guide his own clients within his company. Among them there are CartoVista, Cilex, 4elements, and the Canadian Commission for UNESCO. Jasmin is also a Lecturer at the Université du Québec en Outaouais where he teaches for the B.A. in Graphic Design at the École multidisciplinaire de l’image.

Réal Morrissette, CPA, CMA

Développement Propulsion Inc.

Développement Propulsion Inc. was founded in 2016 by Réal Morrissette, a certified management accountant with a diploma in business administration from the Université du Québec en Abitibi-Témiscamingue. His goal was to offer accounting services to SMEs whose resources or size do not justify hiring a full-time accountant. 

The accounting firm specializes in financial management for businesses, offering accounting and tax advice about starting a business, bookkeeping services, compilation preparation, funding guidance, and finding subsidies to carry out reviews and audits.

Serge Paquette

Risk Balance

Serge is a Business Insurance Broker and he specializes in the sphere of knowledge economy. His clients include among others companies operating in the areas of technology, communication and biotechnology. He works with start-up companies as well as with large corporations doing business on the international scene. He is therefore well positioned to provide solutions adapted to start-ups and advise them all the way through their growth. Serge holds a Bachelor’s degree in Business Administration and a Canadian Diploma in Risk Management.

PROFESSIONNELS
EN RÉSIDENCE

Les professionnels en résidence de Cilex travaillent en étroite collaboration avec les entrepreneurs afin de les outiller et de les conseiller pour qu’ils prennent des décisions stratégiques éclairées.

BDC_Logo_Horiz_RGB.png
Martin Paquette, CPA, CA

Banque de développement du Canada

Martin Paquette est diplômé de HEC Montréal en sciences comptables et détenteur du titre de CPA, CA depuis 2009. Il cumule plusieurs années d’expérience en tant que comptable professionnel agréé (CPA) et près de neuf années à la BDC, dont plusieurs à titre de directeur associé dans l’équipe de Capital de croissance et transfert d’entreprise – Secteur des technologies. Il joint de solides compétences en analyse financière et en gestion de risque de crédit.

Vous pouvez contacter Martin Paquette directement par courriel à martin.paquette@bdc.ca.

Me Sophie-Anne Décarie, LL.B.

Décarie Avocats Lawyers

Diplômée de l’Université Laval en droit et de l’Université de Sherbrooke en plaidoirie, médiation civile et commerciale, après avoir réalisé un parcours en sciences politiques à l’Université d’Ottawa, Me Sophie-Anne Décarie est inscrite au Barreau du Québec depuis 1999. Avocate et médiatrice civile et commerciale accréditée, elle possède une grande expérience en litige civil et commercial dans des domaines tels quel le droit de la construction, le droit immobilier, le droit commercial, la responsabilité civile, le droit de la franchise et le droit des assurances.

L’expertise de Décarie Avocats Lawyers comprend entre autres l’incorporation, les conventions entre actionnaires, les déclarations annuelles, les contrats de service ou la rédaction, la révision et la négociation de contrat.

Marc Langlois

Accompagnement financier Marc Langlois

Marc Langlois est détenteur d’un baccalauréat en sciences économiques de l’Université de Montréal et d’une maitrise en administration des affaires (MBA) en comptabilité et finance de l’Université McGill. Il a occupé plusieurs postes de gestion au sein de la Banque royale du Canada, pour ensuite devenir directeur régional principal d’Investissement Québec, un poste qu’il a occupé pendant près de 15 ans.

 

En tant que consultant en financement professionnel, Marc Langlois accompagne les petites et les grandes entreprises depuis plus de 35 ans dans les différentes étapes de leur développement. Son expertise en marchés financiers et en financement commercial lui permet d’aider les entrepreneurs à réaliser leurs projets, notamment en obtenant du financement et des aides gouvernementales.

André Merizzi, M.Sc. (physique)

Merizzi, Ramsbottom & Forster

André opère dans le domaine de la propriété intellectuelle depuis plus de 12 ans, se spécialisant particulièrement au développement de portfolios en brevets se reliant aux innovations en hautes technologies, telles les technologies informatiques, l’optique et les systèmes de télécommunication, mais aussi se reliant aux produits de construction et aux procédés industriels.

En tant que physicien, André vise toujours à comprendre les principes fondamentaux à la base des inventions qu’il cherche à protéger afin de bien cerner les divers aspects techniques et technologiques menant aux avantages commerciaux uniques offerts par ces inventions. Par l’entremise de revendications et de dépôts internationaux stratégiques, André cherche d’abord à optimiser le positionnement légal de ses clients de sorte à maximiser la valeur ajoutée de leur portfolio en brevet, tenant compte du budget disponible au développement de leur portfolio.

Jasmin Morin

Designer graphique

Jasmin Morin cumule plus de 12 ans d’expérience dans différents secteurs des communications visuelles, notamment dans la conception d’expérience et d’interface utilisateur, la création d’images de marque et la conception publicitaire. Passionné de résolution de problème, il aborde le design et les communications visuelles comme un lieu d’innovation permettant la création de solutions stratégiques uniques à chaque projet. 

 

En 2015, après avoir travaillé comme concepteur dans la startup technologique Punchtime, il décide de mettre son expérience à profit pour aider et guider ses propres clients au sein de son entreprise. Parmi ceux-ci, on peut compter CartoVista, Cilex, 4elements et la Commission canadienne pour l’UNESCO. Jasmin enseigne aussi à titre de chargé de cours à l’Université du Québec en Outaouais au baccalauréat en design graphique offert par l’École multidisciplinaire de l’image.

Réal Morrissette, CPA, CMA

Développement Propulsion Inc.

Diplômé en administration des affaires de l’Université du Québec en Abitibi-Témiscamingue et comptable professionnel agréé, Réal a fondé Développement Propulsion Inc. en 2016 afin d’offrir ses services aux PME en démarrage ou en activité dont les ressources ou la taille ne justifient pas l’embauche d’un comptable professionnel à temps plein.

Développement Propulsion Inc. se spécialise en gestion financière pour entreprises, offrant des conseils comptables et fiscaux relatifs au démarrage, des services de tenue de livres, la préparation des missions de compilation, de l’accompagnement pour le financement et la recherche de subvention pour la réalisation de missions d’examens ou d’audits.

Serge Paquette

Risk Balance

Serge est courtier d’assurance pour entreprises et il se spécialise dans le milieu de l’économie du savoir. Ses clients sont entre autres des entreprises en technologie, en communication et en biotechnologie. Il travaille avec les entreprises en démarrage ainsi qu’avec de grandes sociétés ayant une présence internationale. Il est donc bien positionné pour fournir des solutions adaptées aux startups et pouvoir les conseiller tout au long de leur croissance. Serge détient un baccalauréat en administration des affaires ainsi qu’un diplôme canadien en gestion de risques.